Member List

ABCDEHJLNRSTY

Adam Sabra
University of California
Research Interest: Egypt, Ottoman, Mamluk, Charity, Sufism
asabra@history.ucsb.edu

Abdelmajid Hannoum
University of Kansas
Research Interest: Migration, Urban Protests, Children and Youth, Race, Legality/Illegality,  North Africa
hannoum@gmail.com

Abeer R. Musleh
Bethlehem University
Research Interest: Youth Engagement, Youth Development, Collective Action, Youth Work Practice
abmusleh@gmail.com

Atacan Atakan
University of Arizona
Research Interest: History of Ottoman Childhood, Ottoman Women’s History, Theories of Sexuality and Gender, Nation and Nationalism, Political Islam
atacanatakan@email.arizona.edu

Atika GA Khalaf
Faculty of Health Science, Kristianstad University, Sweden; Department of Maternal and Child Health, College of Nursing, Sultan Qaboos University
Research Interest: Epidemiology, Body image, Public Health, Nursing, Midwifery
atika.khalaf@hkr.se

Avner Giladi
University of Haifa
Research Interest: Medieval Islam, Family, Childhood, Gender
agiladi@research.haifa.ac.il

Beth Baron
City College and Graduate Center, CUNY

Research Interest: Childbirth, Egypt, Gender, Infant Mortality, Medicine
bbaron@gc.cuny.edu

Brooke Barber
University of Texas at Austin
Research Interest: Queer Women, Modern Middle East
brookeb915@gmail.com

Caroline Krafft
St. Catherine University
Research Interest: Economics, Early Childhood Development, Youth, Labor, Education
cgkrafft@stkate.edu

Chiara Diana
Université libre de Bruxelle
Research Interest: Childhood, Youth, Political Agency, Socialization and Subjectivity
chiara.diana@ulb.be

Colin Jude Murtha
The Ohio State University
Research Interest: Pre-modern History, Ottoman History, Intellectual/Cultural History, History of Childhood, History of Aging
murtha.29@buckeyemail.osu.edu

David Balgley
Cornell University
Research Interest: Agrarian Studies, Development, Resource Management, Rural Youth, Morocco
dcb294@cornell.edu

Dina Hosni
Institute for Sociology, Goethe-University
Research Interest: Youth Activism, Gender Politics, Political Islam, Public Sphere, Post-Islamism
dina_h@aucegypt.edu

Dylan Baun
University of Alabama in Huntsville
Research Interest: History, Youth and Young People, 20th Century, Lebanon, Eastern Mediterranean
dylan.baun@uah.edu

Ella Ayalon
Tel Aviv University
Research Interest: Orphanhood, Jewish Studies, Palestine/Israel, Child Care, 20th Century
ella.ayalon@gmail.com

Erin Gould
Chapman University
Research Interest: Morocco, Youth, Storytelling, Revival, Performance
erin.gould4@gmail.com

Hedi Viterbo
Queen Mary University of London
Research Interest: Law, Children’s Rights, State Violence, Israel/Palestine
hedi.viterbo@qmul.ac.uk

Heidi Morrison
University of Wisconsin, La Crosse
Research Interest: ​Egypt, Israel-Palestine, Oral History, Violence, Memory
hmorrison@uwlax.edu

Jakob Krais
Currently non Affiliation
Research Interest: Youth Movements, Sports, Islamic Reformism, Colonialism, Algeria
jakob.krais@fu-berlin.de

Jean-Pierre Rossie
Catholic University of Portugal
Research Interest: Children, Play, Toys, North Africa, Sahara
sanatoyplay@gmail.com

Leyla Kayhan Elbirlik
Özyeğin University
Research Interest: ​Ottoman Legal History, Women and Gender Studies, History of the Family, History of Emotions, Childhood History
leylakayhan1@gmail.com

Leyla Neyzi
Research Fellow, University of Glasgow, History Professor, Sabanci University (on leave)
Research Interest: ​anthropology, oral history, memory studies, youth, political violence
leyla.neyzi@glasgow.ac.uk
neyzi@sabanciuniv.edu

Lucia Carminati
Texas Tech University
Research Interest: Egypt, History, Migration, Labor, Gender
lcarminati@email.arizona.edu

Nada Berrada
Virginia Tech
Research Interest: Youth, Agency, Family, Education, Employment, Middle East and North Africa, Ethnography, Morocco
nada1@vt.edu

Nareman Amin
Princeton University
Research Interest: ​Islam, Youth, Activism, Religious Authority, US, Egypt
namin@princeton.edu

Nazan Maksudyan
Freie Universität Berlin Research Associate, Centre Marc Bloch
Research Interest: Ottoman Social and Cultural History, Children & Youth Studies, Gender, Exile, non-Muslims
nazan.maksudyan@fu-berlin.de

Nazlı Güzin ÖZDİL
Independent Researcher
Research Interest: Education Policy, History of Education, Child Protection
nazli.ozdil@gmail.com

Ragui A. Assaad
University of Minnesota
Research Interest: ​Labor Markets in the Middle East and North Africa, School-to-Work Transition, Transitions to Adulthood, Inequality of Opportunity, Women’s. Economic Participation
assaad@umn.edu

Sivan Balslev
Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Research Interest: Iran, Modern Childhood, Masculinity, Gender History, Sexuality
sivan.balslev@mail.huji.ac.il

Suad Joseph
University of California, Davis
Research Interest: Family, Gender, Children/Youth, Citizenship/State, Lebanon
sjoseph@ucdavis.edu

Tuğçe Kayaal
University of Michigan
Research Interest: ​Childhood and Youth Sexuality in the Late Ottoman Empire, History of Intimacies and Sexual Desires in the Middle East
tkayaal@umich.edu

Yael Warshel
Assistant Professor of Telecommunications, Bellisario College of Communications and Research Associate, Rock Ethics Institute, Pennsylvania State University
Research Interest: Media, Conflict Zones, Public Opinion, Human/Citizen Rights, Maghreb, Mashreq, Sub-Saharan Africa, Peace Communication, Intergroup Communication, Assessment and Evaluation, Children and Youth
erin.gould4@gmail.com